Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science Indian Institute of Science

Associate Professor
(Associate Faculty)

  • Office:.
  • Phone: +91 80 2293 3437
  • Home page

Educational History

  • Post-doctoral Associate, Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School and HHMI, 2008-2011
  • Ph.D. Biomedical Engineering, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, 2007
  • B.Tech, Electrical Engineering, IIT Kanpur, 2001

Courses offered in the last five years

  • NS 201: Introduction to Neuroscience
  • NS 301: Topics in Systems and Cognitive Neuroscience
  • DB 201: Mathematics and Statistics for Biologists
  • E9 282: Neural Signal Processing

Awards / Honours / Affiliations

  • Associate of Indian Academy of Science
  • Wellcome DBT Intermediate Fellowship
  • Honorary member of the Phi Beta Kappa society for academic excellence in graduate school, 2008.
  • Director’s silver medal for standing first in the Electrical Engineering department at IIT Kanpur, 2001.
  • Ratan Swarup Gold medal for excellence in academics and outstanding all round achievements in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science departments at IIT Kanpur, 2001.
  • Lalit Narayan Das Memorial scholarship for standing first in the Electrical Engineering Department at the end of third year at IIT Kanpur, 2000.
  • Academic Excellence Award given by the director, IIT Kanpur in 1st and 2nd year for being within the top 20 students in Academics.
  • National Talent Search (NTS) Scholarship awarded by the Government of India, 1995-2001.
  • Certificate of merit by the Central Board of Secondary Education for being within the top 0.01% students in Chemistry in senior secondary exams, 1997.
  • Member Sociiety for Neuroscience


Current Research areas

  • Neural mechanisms of selective attention
  • Neural mechanisms of gamma oscillations
  • Relationship between neuronal firing and local field potentials
  • Electrocorticogram (ECoG) studies in humans and primates