Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science Department of Electrical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science Indian Institute of Science


  • A research paper by Alok Ranjan Verma and Subba Reddy B, presented at 4th IEEE Intl conf (UPCON 2017) held at Mathura, during 26th to 28th Oct 2017 has been adjudged as the best paper in the power systems track
  • Prof. A G Ramakrishnan has become a member of the Karnataka Knowledge Commission. This body gives recommendations for improving governance in the state, benefit to society and enabling citizens of Karnataka. Click here to visit Karnataka Jnana Ayoga website
  • Mr. A Madhavaraj, Ph D scholar under Prof. A G Ramakrishnan, has been invited to give a tutorial on Automated Speech Recognition in the 16th Tamil Internet Conference at the University of Toronto, Canada, during Aug. 25-27, 2017. He is provided travel and accommodation by the Conference.
  • Dr. Sriram Ganapathyi and Dr. Prasanta Ghosh have been selected to receive the Pratiksha Trust Young Investigator Award for the  next two years.
  • Prof. Udaya Kumar and Dr. Subba Reddy have been granted an Indian patent for their invention: AN INSULATOR COMPRISING FIELD REDUCTION ELECTRODES TO IMPROVE POLLUTION FLASHOVER STRENGTH
  • This years OPEN Day on 4th March. Click here to see the details of demos
  • Attention Candidates for QIP interview. Please print the Choice of likely Research Area form and bring the filled up form with you for the interview.
  • Prof. P. S. Sastry has been chosen to receive the Alumni Award for excecllence in research in Engg. (2016)
  • Prof. A. G. Ramakrishnan has been chosen to receive the Jay Jayant Award 2016 for Teaching Excellence in Engg.
  • Avishek Chatterjee (PhD. 2016) has won the 2015-16 IUPRAI doctoral dissertation award for best thesis in the areas of computer vision, graphics, image processing and pattern recognition.
  • The following research students working under the supervision of Dr. Subba Reddy B, have received best paper presentation awards and cash prize: Mr Rahul Chakraborty received (2nd place), while Mr Shakthi Prasad D and Mr Alok Ranjan Verma received (3rd place) respectively, at the IEEE-IAS & Electrostatic Society of America, Joint conference held during 13th to 17th June 2016 at PURDUE university, Indiana, USA.
  • Dr. Gurunath's paper titled "Flexible Implementation of Power System Topology Control in Smart Electricity Grids" has won the "2nd Best Poster Award" in IEEE PES T&D Conference and Exposition 2016 in Dallas, USA, May 2-5.
  • Dr. Venu Madhav Govindu has been promoted as Associate Professor
  • Team 'Vidyut' of SPIRE Lab has been selected as the second runnerup in Signal Processing Cup 2016 held in Shanghai last week as a part of ICASSP 2016
    Competition Topic: Exploring Power Signatures for Location Forensics of Media Recordings
    list of team members of Vidyut:
    Supervisor: Prasanta Kumar Ghosh
    Postgraduate: Nisha Meenakshi
    Undergraduate: Priyadarshini Savan Roshan (NITK)
    Pradyumna Byappanahalli Suresha (NITK)
    Supriya Nagesh (NITK)
    Aditya Gaonkar P (IIT-M)
  • Dr. Sriram Ganapathy has joined the department as Assistant Professor on 29th Jan. 2016
  • Times of India, Jan. 17, 2016 covers how MILE Lab's OCR and TTS are used to provide Kannada school books as .mp3 files to the blind students.
Upto December 2013
  • One day Workshop on Xilinx 7 Series FPGA’s and Vivado Tool flow, 22nd January, 2014. (Brochure)(Registration form)
  • A. Venkitaraman and C. S. Seelamantula's recent article features in the popular articles (Oct 2013) list of IEEE Signal Processing Letters The list includes the top 25 most frequently downloaded documents for IEEE SPL according to the most recent monthly usage statistics.
  • Mr. Abhijit K (Ph.D. student) paper title 'A novel design method for SOGI-PLL for minimum settling time and low unit vector distortion' was selected as the best paper for the session "Control Techniques for Power Converters 5" in the 39th Annual conference of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (IECON 2013), during Nov. 10th - 13th 2013, in Vienna, Austria.
  • Dr. Soma Biswas has joined the department as Assistant Professor.
  • Science Academies Summer Research internship Programme for Students and Teachers - 2014
  • Mr. Saurav Pramanik (Ph.D. student) was conferred the "YOUNG RESEARCHER AWARD" for his paper, at the 18th International Symposium on High Voltage Engineering, ISH 2013, held during 25-30 Aug, in Seoul, Korea. He was the only Indian to receive this award. It carries a citation and a cash prize of USD 500/-
  • Courses for Aug term 2013
  • Prof. G.Narayanan has received IETE-Bimal Bose Award(2013)
  • Tamil/Kannada Text to speech synthesis developed by MILE Lab is regularly being used by schools, trusts and libraries for the benefit of blind students.
  • Dr. Subba Reddy has received "HERITAGE-Erasmus Mundas Fellowship Award", funded by EUROPEAN COMMISSION.
  • Dr. Manojit Pramanik has recieved Young Scientist Research Award from the Department of Atomic Energy.
  • Dr. Subba Reddy awarded with NRDC Meritorious Societal Invention Award - 2011